top of page
Search

The Story Behind Lettersbyandre



Hiii everyone!


Welcome to Lettersbyandre's fist blog post! YAY!


First of all I would like to welcome all of you to my official website. There is still not much going on here, but this will start to change slowly.


My name is Andrea, and I am the face (or rather, the hands) behind Lettersbyandre. I started my lettering journey in 2017 when I was on maternity leave with my son, Diego. After only a couple of posts on my Instagram page, I stop lettering completely. I struggled a bit with time and having a newborn took pretty much all my attention. After a year, when I started to have a bit more free time, I started lettering again. So I would say that I officially started lettering in March 2018. Which is crazy to me, that's 2 whole years right there!!


My first year on Instagram was incredibly successful. I went from having 100 followers to 10k! I also opened my Etsy shop and started generating a bit of a passive income creating and selling digital brushes and custom prints.


Most of the second year wasn't as good. Sure, I still spent time lettering and grew my Instagram audience a bit more, created a few more brushes, got invited on a podcast, created lettering workbooks. BUT, I was lacking motivation. I changed jobs and from a previous part-time job I went to a full time 5 days a week 9-5 job, which was amazing for my career but not so much for my lettering side business.


For six months I posted about 5 times in total, I wasn't motivated enough to allocate time during my week to lettering and the whole Instagram hustle. That was until my life changed completely.


My husband's company offered him a transfer which meant leaving Brisbane (Australia) and go to London. We'd been living in Australia for the past 9 years and completely looooved it. But it really wasn't a hard decision for us and we took the offer and moved half way across the world, for the second time in our lives.


The move happened on 6th March 2020. And well, then you all know what happened. A pandemic!


I have to admit, I would't recommend moving from one continent to another in the midst of a pandemic. But we've had a lot of luck so far and the lock down has allowed me to spend more time on my lettering. So, silver lining right there.


For the past couple of months I have re-discovered my passion for lettering, and hence the opening of my website! I plan to start being more active on social media, creating content (and free content) to share with you and maybe even start creating some tutorials for all of you who are in this journey or that would like to start.


So, if you would like to stick around, I promise we'll have a lot of fun!


If you want for me to address specific topics, or if you would like to see or learn anything in particular, please let me know in the comments below and don't forget to subscribe so you don't miss a thing, and to receive free goodies.


Thanks for reading me.










281 views2 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page